Certifications from PMI

Wherever you are in your career, PMI has a certification for you

In an increasingly “projectized” world, PMI professional certification ensures that you’re ready to meet the demands of projects and employers across the globe.

Developed by practitioners for practitioners, PMI’s certifications are based on rigorous standards and ongoing research to meet the real-world needs of organizations. With a PMI certification behind your name, you can work in virtually any industry, anywhere in the world, and with any project management methodology.

Find the Certification that Fits You Best

PMP® Project Management Professional is the most important industry-recognized certification for project managers. You can find PMPs leading projects in nearly every country and, unlike other certifications that focus on a particular geography or domain, the PMP® is truly global. As a PMP, you can work in virtually any industry, with any methodology and in any location.

PgMP® Program Management Professional - Designed for those who manage multiple, complex projects to achieve strategic and organizational results.

PfMP® Portfolio Management Professional - recognizes the advanced experience and skill of portfolio managers.

CAPM® Certified Associate in Project Management - The CAPM demonstrates your understanding of the fundamental knowledge, terminology and processes of effective project management. Download individual assets, selected assets, or all assets to help you pursue your CAPM certification.

PMI-CP™ Construction Professional in Built Environment Projects - PMI-CP helps construction professionals define the gold standard in global construction projects and bring large, complex projects to life.

Disciplined Agile®  PMI has the following Agile certifications for those that are leading and coaching agile teams. Details here: https://www.pmi.org/certifications/agile-certifications 

  • Disciplined Agile® Scrum Master (DASM) Certification
  • Disciplined Agile® Senior Scrum Master (DASSM) Certification
  • Disciplined Agile® Coach (DAC)
  • Disciplined Agile® Value Stream Consultant (DAVSC)

PMI-PBA® PMI Professional in Business Analysis - The PMI-PBA highlights your expertise in business analysis. It spotlights your ability to work effectively with stakeholders to define their business requirements, shape the output of projects and drive successful business outcomes.

PMI-ACP® PMI Agile Certified Practitioner - Created for those who believe in and apply agile principles and practices on projects. It requires a combination of training, experience and an exam. It also bridges agile approaches such as SCRUM, XP, LEAN and Kanban.

PMI-RMP® PMI Risk Management Professional - The PMI-RMP certification recognizes demonstrated knowledge and expertise in the specialized area of assessing and identifying project risks along with plans to mitigate threats and capitalize on opportunities.

PMI-SP® PMI Scheduling Professional - The PMI-SP certification recognizes demonstrated knowledge and advanced experience in the specialized area of developing and maintaining project schedules.

Educational and Practical Experience Requirements

Each of the PMI professional designations has varying educational and practical experience requirements that must be accept by PMI before the candidate can sit for a certification exam.  Candidates must pass the exam before certification can be granted.  Once granted, in order to maintain certification, the PM certificate holder must meet an annual qualifying continuing education requirement. 

A candidate is assessed by examining his or her competence using: Reviewing Education and Experience—A combination of education and/or experience in project management is required for each certification.

  1. Testing Competence—The candidate is required to apply project management concepts and experience to potential on-the-job situations through a series of scenario-based questions.
  2. Ongoing Development—Maintenance of a PMI certification requires the accumulation of ongoing professional development and education or, in the case of the CAPM certification, re-certification.

PMI’s entire certification program is supervised by the Certification Governance Council (CGC), a committee of PMI credential holders who have a Board mandate to oversee PMI’s credentials.